“Did you go to church on Sunday?”


I’ve had a lot of conversations recently about a particular question that many Christians frequently ask or are asked, so I thought I’d bring the conversation here.

Have you ever asked or been asked: “Did you go to church on Sunday?”

It seems to me that we sometimes get in a habit of making this question a sort of thermometer by which to take each other’s spiritual temperature. If the answer is “yes, I did go…” we move on satisfied by a “healthy” response. If the answer is “No. I didn’t go.” We become concerned.

I have done this a lot over the years but I’ve come to think that it’s a pretty bogus spiritual thermometer. And while I do still ask the question every now and then, because I know people “go to church” on Sundays and it’s a conversation that can be legitimate, I come at it now from a different perspective. It’s almost a “How’s the weather there?” or a “What did you do this weekend?” sort of question. It tells me nothing about a person’s spiritual condition.

Here are a few quick reasons why:

1. The church is a people, not a building or a time of meeting. Assembling together is certainly important and valuable, but it doesn’t only happen on Sunday mornings or in church buildings so I don’t really think it’s a fair question.

2. There are a lot of people sitting in church buildings on Sundays who are there so they can say, “Yes, I went to church.” but they are really disconnected from the Body and from intimacy with the Lord. There are others who, for one reason or another, may not be there but are very connected with the Body and with the Lord.

3. Sometimes the Lord takes us through seasons of wilderness in order to accomplish His purposes in our lives. And, I know this is uncomfortable but, sometimes that might mean a season of “skipping church.”

I’m not saying we should not inquire about and be a part of our brothers and sisters spiritual lives. {I think that we should!} I’m just saying that I think there are better questions to ask and that understanding each other’s spiritual health is a whole lot more complicated than knowing whether or not we’re “going to church.”

What are some questions we could ask that dig deeper?

One thought on ““Did you go to church on Sunday?”

  1. Similar to the question “What do you do?” This is an innocent small talk question on the surface…but underneath there is a reason people want to know the nature of our career. It’s a measurement for success…”Has this person succeeded in life/Is this person currently succeeding?” “Did you go to church?” has become a lazy, yet meaningful way for many people to judge something about a person. Aren’t there better questions? Jewish people traditionally ask a question that translates to “How’s your peace?” I’d like to be asked that one time. So sick of “What do you do now?” Praise God for saints that transcend small talk and pithy measurements!

Leave a Reply

