like it’s my job


Yesterday, I sat down to write but was distracted with memories of a day at the beach. Naturally, I then wished I was there. I pictured myself sitting on a wall by the ocean, digging my feet into the sand, drinking coffee, and watching the sunset, while chatting with one of my dearest friends.

Before I knew it, I was switching mediums from print to paint…

I grabbed a little canvas and a paint brush, and an ocean sunset spilled out. I didn’t know what it looked like until it was on the canvas in front of me. At first, I thought the waters of my ocean were still, so I painted them that way, but then I watched my hand wiggle the paint brush around to create waves. And then, I could almost smell the ocean breeze and hear the sound of the crashing waves.

ocean susnet 2

I’ve decided to be creative like it’s my job – writing, painting, and whatever else flows out.  I’d certainly not mind if someday one or both of those things became “my job” {a source of income}. For the time being though, the point is to be who I am, to express and release what’s inside of me, and to learn to do it well.

So, Monday through Friday (with occasional exceptions), you’ll find me writing and painting and creating in various forms. I’ll share some of it along the way.

I’m grateful and humbled that I’m able to spend time doing things I love! {Thank you Jesus and husband!} We’ll see what adventures come out of it.

Do it everyday for a while… Do it as you would do scales on the piano. Do it by pre-arrangment with yourself. Do it as a debt of honor. And make a commitment to finishing things.

– Bird by Bird, Anne Lamott

Leave a Reply

