Are you missing the forest for the trees?


“You have your heads in your Bibles constantly because you think you’ll find eternal life there. But you miss the forest for the trees. These Scriptures are all about me! And here I am, standing right before you, and you aren’t willing to receive from me the life you say you want.” John 5:39-40, MSG

Are you missing the forest for the trees? There is a big picture to see. And that picture is CHRIST.

I recently read a quote by N. T. Wright…

Part of the difficulty is that Jesus was and is much, much more than people imagine. Not just people in general, but practicing Christians, the churches themselves.

I’ve noticed that a natural human tendency is to assume that we are the exception. He’s not talking about ME! But what if he is? What if these statements are true of you and me? I’m not trying to beat us up! That’s quite the opposite of my intention… I’m learning that with Christ, there’s ALWAYS more of him to see!!! So, let’s look!!!! He’s more than just the individual “trees” (or stories) seen on pages of Scripture. He’s given us His life to EXPERIENCE.

A couple months ago, I got to experience something AWESOME. Jon and I zip lined above and through the Costa Rican rain forest. It was SO fun. We had hiked through some of the rainforest, which was awesome. I loved looking at each of the unique trees and seeing various forms of life. But it’s an entirely different experience to look down from above at the vastness and fullness of the forest. I was SO glad that we did both. We were able to get such a fuller picture of its beauty.

Let’s let him take us zip lining above the forest! I’m certain we will all be amazed at his FULLNESS and beauty!

We can find him anywhere, everywhere, anytime, and all the time. He reveals Himself in Scripture, yes. But watch for Him to reveal himself to you in your neighbor, in the sunset, in your favorite tv show, or the dew on the grass in the morning. He reveals himself in the cry of a newborn, the changing of the seasons, and the feeling of hunger when you wait too long to eat. He even reveals Himself in YOU as you live by His life. When our expectation is always Christ and when the Christ we expect is not limited to a box we’ve learned to place Him in… Our vision of Him continually GROWS.

I’ve been STUNNED by the more I’ve seen of Him over the past 2 years. I’m HUMBLED to know that the forest is still MUCH bigger than I know. The reality is much fuller than my mind can expect. There is so much more of His life to receive, not by my efforts, but by His giving.

Leave a Reply

