long slow mornings


Getting out of bed in the mornings seems to be one of the most difficult parts of the day for me. I always plan to get up early and then when the alarm goes off, I think of a long list of reasons why it’s okay for me to sleep more and NOT get up yet. Often, I give in to those excuses. That’s fine, really. I don’t HAVE to get up early and sometimes I probably really do need the sleep.

But today, I got up early – like I planned. It’s been a fantastic morning. Productive… and relaxing! I got ready for the day. I drank my coffee. I cleaned. I read. I talked to a friend in Asia. I’m blogging (which I NEVER do these days) and I still have 20 min before I have to leave for work. I guarantee, I’ll have a better day because of it.

And I keep thinking, “Man. I love long slow mornings! I hate feeling like I’m racing the clock to get out of the door on time! Why do I always do that to myself?” Yet, tomorrow – I’ll probably have the same struggle to get out of bed.

It reminds me of Paul. “For I do not understand my own actions. For xI do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.” Oh the flesh. It can be so frustrating.

I’ve been learning more about my spirit… and learning to live in the spirit rather than the flesh or the soul, is like actually taking the time to enjoy a long and slow morning. It’s just better that way.

… That’s my story for today. Now for a few more minutes of reading before I head to work!

3 thoughts on “long slow mornings

  1. I totally agree- those extra moments I lay in bed are not nearly as satisfying as getting up before Joelle and savoring a cup of coffee with my Bible instead of gulping a cup down and trying to read while she begs for me to play with her ! I looooove long, slow morninings!

Leave a Reply

