WHY ARE YOU GOING? Forget about where.


It’s been a few days since I’ve posted and I feel like I should have something to say, so I sat down and… nothing…

I have a folder filled with random notes and thought processing. I looked there. It’s all too big. Too much to unload right now. I have another place filled with quotes from books and blogs and conversations. And that’s where I said, “Got it!”

The following comes from Chasing Daylight, by Erwin McManus.

You would think if anyone knew the will of God, it would be the apostle Paul. After all, he was God’s instrument for writing much of the New Testament. … Yet, what you find is that Paul was as uncertain about which way to go as many of us are in our life journeys.

In many ways Luke’s travel journal is a divine comedy. It tells us that Paul had no idea where he was supposed to be going. At first he was sure Asia was the right direction, then he redirected to Bithynia. And only when he was unconscious did he finally understand that he was supposed to go to Macedonia. It took the whole Trinity to keep Paul from going to the wrong place. On top of that, while Paul was conscious, he just couldn’t get it.

Paul didn’t know where he was going, but he did know why. His compass was the heart of God. He was fueled and driven by the passion and urgency that God had placed in his heart – to take the life and freedom that comes in Jesus Christ to every person on the face of the earth. What God makes clear is that when we’re committed to seizing His divine moments, He’ll make sure He gets us to the right place at the right time. What God can do through a person who’s willing to act is limitless.

I love that. I’m SO thankful for the story of Paul’s life (for this reason, and SO many others!).

So today, that’s what I have for you… Just passing on some challenging encouragement.

And here’s my question, to you and to me: WHY ARE YOU GOING? Forget about where. Let’s just think about WHY. And when the answer to that is right, God will take care of the rest. And it will be stinkin’ awesome when we get there. Hard. Pretty sure about that. But stinkin’ AWE-SOME!

Leave a Reply

