There is More


Today, I was running and this song came onto my iPod. It’s really NOT a running song. But it was kinda perfect. It became my song of the day. (I usually have one of those.)

More (Live) by Andrew Peterson

I’ve always loved cemeteries. Some people think that’s weird and find cemeteries creepy but I think they are beautiful and peaceful and amazing reminders of important truths… And yes there is sadness in them, but even the sadness is somehow a part of the beauty, though we don’t always know how to see that. I have learned that… like the song says:

There is more
More than all this pain
More than all the falling down
And the getting up again
There is more
More than we can see
From our tiny vantage point
In this vast eternity
There is more

The other day, I went to a cemetery – the one where my dad is buried. It’s been a few years since I’ve been there. So I went. Not because I felt like I needed to, out of duty. Not because I was sad. Not even because I missed my dad. (Though I do, all the time.) I went because I wanted to remember that THIS, what I can see today, is not all there is.

In the years that my dad was sick I begged God to not let him die. I couldn’t imagine learning to live life without him in it. I just knew I would NOT be okay if that happened. But then one day, God showed me that I was wrong and that I WOULD be okay. And then He took him.

And you know what? It was true. I was okay. There have been some days and some moments and some seasons that I did not FEEL okay. But, I have always been okay. And today, 7 years later, I really know that I am okay. I even FEEL okay. (Though my friends are not always sure they are okay when I make awkward jokes about it…)

So I sometimes stand above his grave and I thank God that:

This is not the end here at this grave
This is just a hole that someone made

And I think about life, the one I’m living… The Life that Jesus gives to me, and fills me with! And the Life my dad is living, outside of time – in eternity. And I’m so thankful. And I keep learning that there’s MORE. 

A thing resounds when it rings true
Ringing all the bells inside of you
Like a golden sky on a summer eve
Your heart is tugging at your sleeve
And you cannot say why
There must be more

There is more than what the naked eye can see
Clothing all our days with mystery
Watching over everything
Wilder than our wildest dreams
Could ever dream to be
There is more

And I remember that in whatever I can’t yet understand… In the things I can’t really explain… And even in whatever currently causes moments of feeling NOT okayThere is beauty. Because there is MORE. More than the naked eye can see.

More. And it’s wilder than our wildest dreams could ever dream to be.

Leave a Reply

