change and grow


I’m reading a book called How People Change by Lane and Tripp. {I know. I read too many books at one time.} I started reading it because I want to help OTHER people change and grow. I also figured I’d learn some things for myself along the way; we all need change and growth, right?

But tonight I had quality heart sharing time with the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit and … I’m recognizing logs in my eye.

I thought about things from the book…

God has not called us to a life of “I have spiritually arrived” or “I am just waiting for heaven.” Rather, he calls us to a life of constant work, constant growth, and constant confession and repentance.

Constant work. Constant confession and repentance. Yeah. I need more of that. Sigh.

To the degree that you forget you are a sinner, you will underestimate your daily need for Christ and the relationships in his body that are his tools of change.

I’ve been ignoring sin in my life and underestimating my need for Christ and the relationships in his body. It’s so easy to do that. (But that is no excuse!)

We accept the doctrine of total depravity, but when we are approached about our own sin, we wrap our robes of self-righteousness around us and rise to our own defense.

Yep. I do that.

God’s goal is that we would actually become like him. He doesn’t just want you to escape the fires of hell—though we praise God that through Christ you can! His goal is to free us from our slavery to sin, our bondage to self, and our functional idolatry, so that we actually take on his character!

I have a long way to go in becoming like Him, taking on his character. A lot more freedom to enter into from slavery and bondage and idolatry.

I spent some time in Philippians 1. It has a great prayer in it – one I use to pray for myself and others often. But tonight, I found myself so very very thankful for verse 6.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.

He started a work in me a long time ago. He’s changed me in so many ways. It’s not going to stop anytime soon. He never quits. He never gives up. He is a God of change. (He doesn’t change, but he causes change in US.) And He will continue to change me. And one day… the day of Jesus Christ…

They shall hunger no more, neither thirst anymore;
the sun shall not strike them,
nor any scorching heat.
For the Lamb in the midst of the throne will be their shepherd,
and he will guide them to springs of living water,
and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes. 
(Revelation 7:16-17)

4 thoughts on “change and grow

  1. Oh and also, you know the “sit a spell” blog on your links? a girl in my small group knows them, and she asked me to comment over there during the last elections when the blogger asked to talk to a Christian who was voting for Obama. She said she wanted to understand but just didn’t get it, so wanted to have a civil, honest conversation about it. So we did. On her blog. Publically. It was quite an experience. Went pretty well, though neither of us agreed with each other in the end. :)

Leave a Reply

