join in the reading | When Helping Hurts


I don’t know if you know this but I like reading and learning and discussing!

We are finishing up our Tozer book tomorrow. So there will be one more Tozer post for now and then there will be a switch. The next book we wanted to read together is When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor and Yourself by Corbett and Fikkert.

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while. I started it once actually but I quickly knew it was a book I was going to want to discuss with others! So I stopped and waited. I figured several of the girls on my team here would enjoy reading it so we’ve convinced them all to join in the party! (It wasn’t that hard.) Also, some of us are bloggers! So, I decided we ALL need to blog our thoughts on each chapter! (I’m bossy.)

AND why stop with just people on this side of the world??? So, I’m inviting all of YOU to join in the reading with us! You know you want to come to the party!!!

If you blog, you can blog your thoughts and we can link to each other and interact about the book that way.

If you don’t blog you can read our blogs, email me, skype with us to discuss the book, etc.

If you don’t want to read the book but you’re interested in learning… You can learn from our learning as we blog!

The options are endless!

If none of the above sounds appealing to you at all, you can ignore this series of blogs and I will, probably, still be your friend. ;)

Now, if you ARE interested in participating just let me know!

The reading starts this week. Weeks will be Monday – Sunday and blog posts should be written by Sunday. (Not that if you’re late with it we’ll kick you but if I don’t say a time it’ll all just fall apart!)

This first week, we will read and do the Opening Exercise and the Introduction. It should be read and posted about by Sunday the 15th. If you can’t get the book in time… No worries. You can read the Intro and Chapter 1 the same week! The following week we’ll read Chapter 1 and post it by the 22nd, and so on and so forth!

Please RSVP if you’d like to join the party via comment, email, or facebook! (Or you can be a secret silent joiner if you prefer to be anonymous.)

You know you want to! ;)

6 thoughts on “join in the reading | When Helping Hurts

  1. So guess what… I already have this book on my shelf and I’ve been wanting to read it. So… perfect timing. I also thought you guys would speed read yourselves way ahead of my reading pace in this busy stage of life. BUT … sounds doable. So… I’m in!

  2. I got to your blog through Kacie’s blog. Someone gave me this book nearly two years ago when I returned to the US after two years in Mozambique. I have yet to read it and love the idea of reading it and blogging about it. Thanks for the motivation!

Leave a Reply

