3 books | Go read.


I’ve been reading. A lot. No joke about the a lot part. I haven’t become a recluse. I promise. But I’ve read 10 books in the last 8 or so weeks. [Some of the books have been short, so don’t get too impressed – if lots of reading impresses you.] I’m always reading more than one book at a time and I try to do a bit of a rotation as far as what types of books I read. I categorize books as: learning about Jesus books (spiritual), learning about the world books (global issues/culture), various learning books (history, biographies, science, etc.), and novels. I’m basically always reading several books at a time but not more than one from each category at a time. [Although, if I’m reading a book WITH someone over a long-ish period of time it doesn’t count as the one of i’s category.] Novels are a treat. I have to finish at least 2 books between novels. This is mostly because a novel captures my attention and I neglect all the other books I’m reading. {This is not a new routine/method. I’ve just been reading faster lately, with more discipline.}

Would you like to know some of my favorites so far on this recent reading adventure? (It’s also a competition with Brittany. I’m ahead but she’s catching up. I shouldn’t be writing this. I should be reading. I want to win.) [How nerdy do you have to be to have a reading competition, for fun, with your friend???] I’ve written posts about a couple of them already so today I’ll share 3 more books, from 3 different categories.

1. Just Do Something: How to Make a Decision Without Dreams, Visions, Fleeces, Open Doors, Random Bible Verses, Casting Lots, Liver Shivers, Writing in the Sky, etc. by Kevin DeYoung (a Jesus book – spiritual)

This was a short read, only 128 pages. I think I read it in two sittings. And then I re-read the parts I had highlighted. I think it’s important to hold the sovereignty of God very highly. I also believe it is really important to accept our own high level of responsibility to make choices and take action. It’s sometimes very hard to wrap my mind around how the two work together, though I believe strongly that they do – without contradiction. I REALLY appreciated the way that DeYoung communicated how the two go together. I shared this quote in a post previously: “God does have a specific plan for our lives, but it is not one that He expects us to figure out before we make a decision.” Waiting for a booming voice, a neon sign, an arrow on the ground, or – as the title names – liver shivers, from God to make choices or move forward with things is dangerous. If you’ve ever been confused about how you were supposed to decide where you should live, what job you should take, who you should date/marry, what church you should go to, or ya know… any of the stuff that we tend to all struggle with … I suggest this book.

2. Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (a world book – global issues)

This book took me a few weeks to read. I couldn’t read too much at a time because it’s not exactly light hearted. It deals with different problems, crises, tragedies that women around the world – in developing countries – face daily including: slavery, prostitution, rape, honor killings, maternal mortality, issues of family planning, lack of available education and the reasons behind it, etc. It’s filled with information, statistics, and stories of real people behind the facts and numbers. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’ve been increasingly compelled to become more aware of THE WORLD, all of it/as much of it as I can, because as a Christian I’m called to love the world and it’s impossible to love what you don’t know. Right? This book really helped me to “get to know” women all over the world. I care about all of the topics in the book [As a Christian how could I not?], but some of them are things that I am becoming increasingly passionate about and issues that I’d like to find ways to get more involved in. It’s my guess that anyone who reads this book will find something that they REALLY can care deeply about and that you can discover a way that you can LOVE the world and meet needs.

3. Divine by Karen Kingsbury (novel)

Honestly, the only reason I read this book is that it was free on kindle one day. (Sorry, it’s not anymore. Back to $9.59.) I had never read anything by Karen Kingsbury and all I knew is that she writes Christian novels… and, while there are some good Christian novels, there are also some really really bad/cheesy/I-don’t-want-to-waste-my-time-on-this-book Christian novels too. [A lot of them.] But a friend said she had enjoyed her books, so I tried it. And I actually really really liked it. It’s not a totally feel good story. It’s actually really sad and filled with a lot of pain, like life can be, but there is also a lot of really beautiful redemption that takes place. It deals with issues of sexual-slavery as it happens even today and even in America, as well as abusive relationships of various types. I couldn’t stop reading. [I told you, novels suck me in!] I finished the book on Saturday and days later I still find myself thinking about the characters. I’m not sure if it was actually that well written or if I just have this odd way of always putting myself into stories and feeling what the characters feel… and then thinking of them like they are my friends… I’m pretty sure I even dreamed about them. [Don’t make fun.]

So there you have it. Go read. It’s good for you.

4 thoughts on “3 books | Go read.

    • It’s measured in books, which we realize doesn’t make sense. See, the point really is not so much the competition as the reading and the learning. The competition got added on as we became competitive about it. BUT we will be developing a rating system, factoring in pages and difficulty level after July. Round 2 will be more fair. :) And yes, I just solidified the fact that I am a big nerd if anyone was wondering.

Leave a Reply

