clean water | if we actually believed


Nearly ONE BILLION people around the world live without clean water. Take the next 3 minutes and 23 seconds to watch a little bit about what their lives are like and what would change if clean water became available to them. Imagine yourself in their position. Remember that they are people, made by the same God, for the same purpose as you and me.

One of my favorite things to say is “We’re all in this together!” Because we are… We’re all in this world together… We’re all made in the image of God together… We’ve all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God together. But when we look from a distance into the lives of people who live without access to clean water, can we say it to them honestly? Are we in this with them? I mean, where I live I can’t drink the stuff that comes out of my faucets without boiling it first so I have clean water delivered in jugs to my door. I don’t know what it’s like to not have that available.

The BILLION who live in the reality of no clean water need us to enter into this with them, and dream for them a life that is different… and then we just maybe we will need to DO something.

I know. There are a lot of people in the world. And a lot of issues. And it’s not possible for all of us to help with all of them. Our resources are limited. But that’s not excuse to not pay attention. Or to not try. I mean, how many of us buy soda or coffee everyday, in addition to having access to clean water anywhere at anytime? What if we actually believed that what was ours wasn’t really ours? And the extra we havewe should share with those who need. (Ya know, like in Acts.) I wonder how the world would change if we could really get that. [I’m talking to myself just as much, if not more, as I am talking to you.]

Leave a Reply

