when I can’t see


Yesterday I wrote about being in the middle of some amazing things and our need to open our eyes in each moment to see the amazing.

So, naturally… today was a day that when I looked around I saw a lot of… 

sinful-nasty-CRAP.
Everywhere.
Even on me. [Not that that should be a surprise.]

{Sorry I said the “c-word” but I don’t think there are any preschoolers reading this so you can probably all handle it.}

Part of it happened when I told that story again – the one that is the most important story in the world. I know that hearing a story one time CAN change a life. But I also know that some people have to hear it many times (like I did) before their heart opens up to it. [And that can be even more true if they’ve really never heard anything like it, ever.] And some people will always reject it. And none of that is up to me. I know that.

But, today… when eyes rolled, snide comments were made, no second thought was given, and they picked up their mirrors and stared at their faces and fluffed up their new hair cuts because their own beauty matters more than His, and they began talking about the new beautiful clothes they just bought because possessions are more important than discovering Truth, and they started planning where they would go with their boyfriends this weekend because a romantic date is more important than an eternity my heart ached.

It was like, for a moment, I was seeing into hearts… and not just theirs, but mine too – without Jesus. Our hearts without Jesus are all sinful-nasty-CRAP. They just are. And it’s hard to look into them sometimes. And when you’re looking into them, it’s hard to see the amazing things happening around us in the moment.

But maybe I needed that… to appreciate the miracle that occurs when a heart is changed… to remember that sin destroys and distracts and blinds… to be reminded that I really have to TRUST that when I can’t see The Amazing, He’s still working… and my job is always to remain faithful – whether I see The Amazing or not.

One thought on “when I can’t see

  1. That is what I felt like in my years in Chicago after college. No response. I wondered what the heck was going on with everyone…. and with the Holy Spirit.

    The end of the faith chapter strikes me.
    39 These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised, 40 since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.

    I find it astounding that so many of those commended for their faith NEVER saw the results.

Leave a Reply

