why I write


John Piper said [in When I Don’t Desire GodHow to Fight for Joy] “that there are eyes in pencils and in pens.”

Ann Voskamp said [in One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are], “ink can be cheap medicine.”

Martin Luther once said, “If you want to change the world, pick up your pen.”

I guess that’s why I write. I guess that’s why even when I’m walking down the street, especially if I’m alone, I’m writing in my head and hoping I remember when I get a chance to write it down. I guess that’s why I write on 3 x 5 cards like it’s my job and make lists and fill journals and word documents and have recently become obsessed with Microsoft OneNote.

Because, sometimes, when I take the time to see through pencils and pens [and clicking keyboards], I see better than I do when I only use my eyes.

Because, sometimes, I probably need counseling or just something to calm me down … but ink [or a screen with a cursor and letters spilling out of it] will suffice.

Because, I have been changed by words I have read, and just maybe the words that I write will help change someone else.

I guess that’s why I’m obsessed with seeing life in story form.

Donald Miller said [in his newest book: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: How I Learned to Live a Better Story], “And once you live a good story, you get a taste for a kind of meaning in life, and you can’t go back to being normal; you can’t go back to meaningless scenes stitched together by the forgettable thread of wasted time. The more practice stories I lived, the more I wanted an epic to climb inside of and see through till its end.”

I love a good story. I love telling a good story. I love listening to a good story. I love living a good story. I love watching – YOUlive a good story.

Donald Miller also said [in that same book], “A good storyteller doesn’t just tell a better story, though. He invites other people into the story with him, giving them a better story too.”

That’s why I share. Because maybe the lessons I am learning and the stories I am walking through will somehow be used to draw someone into a new part of their (maybe your) story – of God’s story… Maybe as I learn to live a better story, you can learn too? [We ARE all in this together, you know.]

And one last quote from Mr. Miller for today: “We live in a world where bad stories are told, stories that teach us life doesn’t mean anything and that humanity has no great purpose. It’s a good calling, then, to speak a better story. How brightly a better story shines. How easily the world looks to it in wonder. How grateful we are to hear these stories, and how happy it makes us to repeat them.”

I guess, really, that is why I write. Because it makes me happy and it helps me live a better story as I see the world through the eyes of my “pen” – whatever form that pen takes.

{P.S. Desiring God/John Piper has many of their/his books online for free. The link to When I Don’t Desire God: How to Fight for Joy will take you to the free pdf of the book. I just downloaded it myself. I always love free things, especially when that free thing is a good book!}

Leave a Reply

