7 random thoughts


  1. I have a long list of things I want to blog about. They include but are not limited to: fear, fairness, grace, what makes a good story, books I’ve read lately, discipline, baby girls and people who don’t appreciate them, and emotions and how they influence us (me).
  2. But today, my heart is feeling overwhelmed by life… so what I need to do is dump out some of the random contents of my brain through, yet another, numbered list of random thoughts.
  3. I talked to my mom today. I love my mom. She’s a good mom. I hadn’t talked to her in a week and a half, so we caught each other up. I have some big decisions to make and I filled her in a bit on where I am in the process… mostly what I did was cry. She listened and said wise things… and when I hung up the phone, I talked to the Father about how I want to be more like my mom.
  4. Yesterday was a good day filled with a McFlurry and 4 hours at Starbucks.
  5. There’s this girl who I once knew of but didn’t actually know. We lived in the same building, on the same floor, used the same bathroom, the same microwave, and watched the same tv – for a year – but we never really knew each other. Yesterday, we met – completely on accident – half a world away from that building. I think I will see her again before long.
  6. I watched a movie tonight that made me think about life and death and it made me wish I could go sit in a cemetery. I love cemeteries. I promise it’s not a morbid thing. It’s just that it reminds me that my days are numbered and I need to live them with purpose and passion and doing things that will matter when this life of mine is over. I find it peaceful to remember that someday, I’ll be deadotherwise known as, with Jesus. I find it challenging to remember that the world is full of billions of people who will also die someday… and I want them to be with Jesus too. To me, cemeteries are reminders of eternal perspective and I love that. I need that. Plus, they are quiet.
  7. I mentioned recently that Brit and I have given ourselves a reading goal that we want to accomplish by the end of our year. I decided to make a tab for my reading list where I will keep track of my progress. The list has expanded since I first posted it on my blog and I will continue to make additions and take suggestions of various sorts. :) Click here or on the tab at the top of the blog if you want to see.
Leave a Reply

