quotes and notes


Reasonable people adapt themselves to the world. Unreasonable people attempt to adapt the world to themselves. All progress, therefore, depends on unreasonable people.” ~ George Bernard Shaw

Dear George Bernard Shaw,
I think I like you. Let’s be friends.
(Although, it’s not really ME that I want the world to adapt to…
but still, I like your thinking.)
Intrigued and inspired by your words,
Shanda

Anxiety is simply living out the future before it gets here.” ~ Kevin DeYoung, Just Do Something

Dear future,
I often feel the need to figure you out.
BUT, I can’t.
I realize that.
So, I should really stop trying to do what I know I can’t do.
I’m working on delighting in your mystery and trusting in my Father.
I will live in moments when they happen.
That’s my goal.
Just thought you should know… I’ll deal with you when you get here.
Until then,
Shanda

“God does have a specific plan for our lives, but it is not one that He expects us to figure out before we make a decision.” ~ Kevin DeYoung, Just Do Something

Dear Kevin,
I really like the way you put that.
It helps me.
A lot.
Gratefully,
Shanda

“Patience is understanding the settled reality that we are not in control. […] Impatient people are tired people.” ~ David Dorr

Dear self,
Maybe this is why you’re tired.
Do I need to sing the patience song to you?
Settle in the reality that you are not in control.
And stop talking to yourself.
Love,
Me

 

Leave a Reply

