reading list


I’ve been asked what I’m reading/planning on reading so I figured I’d share my reading list. The list is in alphabetical order. The books I am currently reading are in red. The books I plan to read next are in blue, after that… I’m not sure of order. I can’t even guarantee that I will stick to the list because while I’m someone who likes a list and a plan, I’m not someone who always sticks to the list or the plan. But I like my list and I probably will, at least mostly, stick to it. One of my co-workers/friends over here and I have set this crazy goal for ourselves of reading 20 books by the end of July. I think it’s very doable at the rate we’ve been going. We shall see. :)

  1. A Fistful of Rice: My Unexpected Quest to End Poverty Through Profitability
  2. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: How I Learned to Live a Better Story by Donald Miller
  3. A Thousand Sisters: My Journey into the Worst Place on Earth to Be a Woman by Lisa Shannon
  4. A Thousand Splendid Suns
  5. Abba’s Child: The Cry of the Heart for Intimate Belonging by Brennan Manning
  6. Behind the Burqa: Our Life in Afghanistan and How We Escaped to Freedom by Yasqur
  7. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
  8. Decision Points by George W. Bush
  9. Field of the Fatherless by Tom Davis
  10. Growing Up Bin Laden
  11. Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl Wudunn
  12. I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced by Nujood Ali
  13. I Do Again by Cheryl Scruggs
  14. In the Land of Invisible Women by Qanta Ahmed
  15. Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung
  16. Knowing God by J. I. Packer
  17. Love In Hard Places by D. A. Carson
  18. My Hands Came Away Red by Lisa McKay
  19. Practical Theology for Women by Wendy Horger Alsup
  20. Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate by Jerry Bridges
  21. Round Ireland with a Fridge by Tony Hawks
  22. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
  23. Simple Church: Returning to God’s Process for Disciple Making by Thom Rainer
  24. Slave: My True Story by Lewis and Nazer
  25. The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin
  26. The Blue Sweater: Bridging the Gap Between the Rich and Poor in an Interconnected World by Jacqueline Novogratz
  27. The Bottom Billion: Why the Poorest Countries are Failing and What Can Be Done About It by Paul Collier
  28. The Centurian’s Wife by Davis Bunn and Janette Oke
  29. The Kite Runner
  30. The Knowledge of the Holy by A. W. Tozer
  31. The Life of Trust: Being a Narrative of the Lord’s Dealings by George Muller
  32. The Ministry of Intercession by Andrew Murray
  33. The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates by Wes Moore
  34. The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Laurence
  35. The Road of Lost Innocence by Somaly Mam
  36. Too Small to Ignore: Why the Least of These Matters Most by Dean Merrill
  37. Wayfarer in the Land by Hannah Hurnard
  38. What’s the Difference? By John Piper
  39. When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor … and Yourself by Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert

What about you? Do you have a reading list? Or a reading pile? What’s on it/in it? What book(s) do you think I should add to my list? I’m always up for suggestions. I could maybe use a couple light hearted, but not lame, novels to read.

3 thoughts on “reading list

  1. I think you should add: Truth and Transformation: A manifesto for an ailing nation by Vishal Mangalwadi. I read it for philosophy and i loved it.

  2. You’re ambitious, Granddaughter. Good for you. I read
    Redeeming Love (think you gave it to your Mom) while on vacation last week.

Leave a Reply

