throw some Tozer in your lap (1)


I have things to say here.
A lot of things.
I don’t know where to begin because there is SO much I’m learning (/trying to learn), but I’m ready to revive my blog with the things floating around in the sometimes scatterbrained mess of my head.

I’ve got about 20 posts being written in my mind while I can’t sleep at night or while I sit quietly on a bus contemplating the purpose of my existence. Maybe half of those will actually make it to a computer screen near you in the days to come.

For the moment, I’d like to throw some Tozer in your lap. My friend Brittany and I are reading his book, Knowledge of the Holy. Today we sat in a Starbucks (mmm) and I sipped my Grande Non-Fat Latte while she had her Tall 1 Pump Mocha, 1 Pump Vanilla Hot Chocolate (I taught her to be complicated! Woops!) and we discussed the first 3 chapters. I don’t know if you’ve ever read a Tozer book, but that dude throws meat at you… and it’s chewy! Talking it over with a friend is helpful for processing (and basically just one of my favorite things to do). As we discussed, I decided…  I’m going to pull things out of each chapter to write about on my blog. Cool with you? Okay. I don’t know if you will actually care, but it’ll help me process so join me if you care and if you don’t, ohhhhhhh well.

Chapter 1: Why We Must Think Rightly About God

What defines me? Who AM I? Questions our souls seem to naturally try to figure out. So, how do we determine our answers? Tozer says that

… the most portentous fact about any man is not what he at a given time may say or do, but what he in his deep heart conceives God to be like.

So what makes me, ME? It’s ultimately not the just the scatterbrained mess of my head or my charming quirkyoddly peculiar personality. It’s not what I say or what I do at this moment or the next… It IS what I, in the deepest depths of my heart believe about God. What makes you, YOU? Same thing. What do you… in the depths of your heart believe to be true about God? That defines you.

Gosh.

It brings home the importance of a lot of things, right?

If what I believe about God DEFINES me… I had better work hard at learning/believing the TRUTH.
One more reason I need to DIG into my Bible and let the Word of God FILL me up and POUR over me until I look different.

And then my pal, Tozer (seriously, I’m hanging out with him in Heaven), talks about the church.

Always the most revealing thing about the Church is her idea of God, just as her most significant message is what she says about Him or leaves unsaid, for her silence is often more eloquent than her speech. She can never escape the self-disclosure of her witness concerning God.

Are there things about God that you and/or your church neglect to talk about? Are there things about Him that freak you out or make you uncomfortable? What are those things? And why are you so afraid of them? Just asking you because I’m asking myself…

And this…

The man who comes to a right belief about God is relieved of ten thousand temporal problems, for he sees at once that these have to do with matters which at the most cannot concern him for very long; but even if the multiple burdens of time may be lifted from him, the one mighty single burden of eternity begins to press down upon him with a weight more crushing than all the woes of the world piled one upon another. That mighty burden is his obligation to God. It includes an instant and lifelong duty to love God with every power of mind and soul, to obey Him perfectly, and to worship Him acceptably.

I don’t even know where to begin. It’s 2 sentences but they are so FULL. I told you. Chewy meat. Do you have any problems? I do. I’m pretty sure I AM a problem. When I meet people I should say, “Hi. My name is Shanda and I am a temporal problem.” — I digress. — In light of God, our problems… our burdens… should look so small. The one thing that matters is our obligation to God. Are we fulfilling our duty to love Him? Yes or no? Are we being obedient? Are we worshiping Him with the way we live our lives? If our honest answer to those questions is NO, we have a BIG eternal kind of problem. If the answer is YES, well then okay. The problems don’t seem so problematic anymore when our hearts are consumed with our love for Him and the joy of living out that mighty burden of living and loving for Him.

The heaviest obligation lying upon the Christian Church today is to purify and elevate her concept of God until it is once more worthy of Him – and of her. In all her prayers and labors this should have first place. We do the greatest service to the next generation of Christians by passing on to them undimmed and undiminished that noble concept of God which we received from our Hebrew and Christian fathers of generations past. This will prove of greater value to them than anything that art or science can devise.

So that’s the challenge. Learn who God is and as you learn teach others about Him. Ready? Go.

It matters that we THINK RIGHTLY OF GOD. It matters more than anything.

Leave a Reply

