it’s our job


A few months ago I went through all my STUFF. I threw a lot away, gave a lot to Good Will, gave a lot to friends, boxed up what I wanted to save… and packed two bags to go with me as I moved to the other side of the world. It’s not a big deal. But it is. But it isn’t. It’s really just a change of address. Anybody could do it and a lot of people do, for all kinds of reasons.

Here are my reasons: I moved because I love Jesus and I believe that He is The Way, The Truth, and The Life and that no man can get to the Father except through Him. I moved because there are OVER A BILLION people who do not know Jesus… and who have NEVER even HEARD of Him! And without Him they are going to spend eternity apart from Him – in hell. I moved because I want to live where there are a lot of those people who NEED to hear and because Jesus commanded us to tell them!

I’ve been looking a lot at the personnel needs here. As I’m working through the needs and thinking forward, I’m hoping and praying like crazy that people who believe in Jesus will see the value in coming to fill these spots. Because other people are willing. There are plenty of people out there who will come and do things like this simply because they want to live an adventure. I’ve met some of them here. Sometimes they are “good people” and sometimes they are very selfish people, with impure motives, but either way… if they are not followers of Jesus they cannot offer hope to the hopeless and they cannot point people towards True Life.

We have to step into people’s lives. If we, who are light, do not… They, who are darkness, will. People are hungry and thirsty for Truth and for Love and they are looking for places to find it (not to mention all the physical needs of hunger and thirst we can help meet too). I’ve watched them go to the wrong places and I’m watching daily the results of years of going to the wrong places. If followers of Jesus are not available… if we haven’t stepped into the lives of people who are dying around us… where/how will they ever know LIFE?

I’m not saying that everyone needs to come here and do what I’m doing. We can’t all do the same thing, but hey… You never know, maybe some of you should! Or maybe you need to step across the street or maybe you need to get on a plane and fly to another part of the world for a few weeks or maybe you need to pack up all your stuff and move. I don’t know. I just know … WE HAVE TO DO SOMETHING. And we have to do it a lot. All the time. Every day…

Because like I said, there are OVER a BILLION people who need to hear about The Way, The Truth, and The Life. And it’s our job to put ourselves in places that we can tell them.

Leave a Reply

