reason for rejoicing


Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. (Philippians 4:4-9 ESV)

Well, there we have it. I’m sitting in my bed with a black eye. (Long story… and it’s actually more purple and red, with a little black mixed in at the moment.) I have to rest. I can’t go anywhere. I suppose I could but my head would really start hurting and I’d scare small children and old ladies. So, I’m sitting here… trying to allow my Father to redeem this time for me. I could just watch movies (and I’ve done some of that). Or I can choose to rejoice, even though looking in the mirror currently makes me want to gag and it hurts to laugh or smile or move suddenly. [I’m not just being over dramatic. I really do look quite terrible. And worse by the hour, it seems… Oh, don’t worry. Slowly FEELING better, but rapidly LOOKING (as far as the bruise part goes) worse.] But, somehow… I’m rejoicing. :) It shouldn’t be hard to do that for those of us who know Jesus.

I’ve been reflecting a lot on two questions lately:

Jesus asking me: Little girl (that’s what he calls me in my mind), who do you say that I am?
Me asking Jesus: Jesus, who do YOU say that I am?

The answers to these questions are long ones, that give me much reason for rejoicing… Long, beautiful answers. I’ve loved thinking about them, meditating on them. I think I’ll keep doing it. The answers are indeed: true, honorable, just, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, and worthy of praise.

In short:

He is
my Savior,
my King,
my Redeemer,
my Friend,
and my Healer…

and…

i am
His creation,
His fellow heir,
His precious girl,
and He delights to call me His.
He even delights to call me his when I look like THIS. (No, I am not posting a picture.)

These things have never been more real to me than they have become in the last few months. It’s been a sweet learning process, not particularly easy, but well worth it.
3 thoughts on “reason for rejoicing

  1. Now you have time to rejoice and dwell in Him! It is not the way you would have planned, but a great opportunity, none the less! It is also an opportunity for Him to receive glory for your healing, and for others who ordinarily would not see Him, to get a glimpse of Him. You and others will see Him at work, because many are PRing. Thank you for allowing Him to use you in all things and at all times!
    I have been thinking about ways that He can use this. You have become known to some that would not have come know you, at least to a higher degree than you would have known them, because of the accident. He will use that for His glory!

Leave a Reply

