the measure you use


Just the other day, I was looking at notes from friends and turned to one with Luke 6:38 on it. I felt like I’d never read it before, though I’m sure I’ve read it countless times. Luke is my favorite gospel after all. I guess I just never stopped to let it sink in or maybe I just forgot. It’s awesome! I read it again this morning because I’m now in Luke in my morning reading. I’ll start in verse 36, which is quite familiar:

“Judge not, and you will not be judged; condemn not, and you will not be condemned; forgive, and you will be forgiven; give, and it will be given to you…

get ready… this is great…

“Good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap. For with the measure you use it will be measured back to you.”

I love the description and the mental picture that I get.

When I was a kid, I LOVED to bake with my mom. I LOVED when a recipe called for brown sugar, packed. You can take brown sugar and pour 1 cup of it and dump it in the bowl… or you can take a spoon and press down and shake and pack and press down and shake some more… FILL it, pack it on top… then add a little extra more to flow off the top… that, my friends, is gonna make some goooooood cookies!

We’re supposed to live generously, like that… give give give… not sloppily throwing our leftovers at someone who will take it but… work at giving…

When I first started learning to bake I didn’t appreciate this whole packing the brown sugar thing. I thought it was too much work. I would put some in and think, “okay there you go.” My mom would say, “you didn’t pack it in!” and she would take it and use her strong mom muscles to make room in the measuring cup for more. She knew that my lazy way wasn’t going to make as tasty of a cookie so maybe it’d be a little less work in the moment, but the reward at the end would not be as satisfying.

Same thing. We’re called here to give in a way that takes work… but then we’re told that it will be given back to us. What we give, we’ll get. We bake the cookies and eat them too!

I thought a lot about my new life… I’m gonna get out of this whatever I put into it. I know this is true. So…

My sleeves are pushed up and I’m ready to give a good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over…

I can taste the cookies already! :)

2 thoughts on “the measure you use

  1. Shanda,

    I love you friend… and thank you for that reminder for me too. You are always in my talks with Dad. (As you say) :) In fact, our whole office does because I often get asked about you.

    I just wanted to write on this site too. Talk to you soon… and thank you for encouraging me from half way around the world.

Leave a Reply

