23: in between


“But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.” ~ Hebrews 11:16

Two words have been in my head a lot the last few days.

IN BETWEEN

Life is a series of transitions. We’re always adjusting to something, preparing for something, recovering from something, wondering what the next thing will be…

I finished what had become my “normal life” about a month ago. I came to CA for a month of being a daughter, a sister, a grand-daughter, a cousin, a niece, and a friend… in person… going on road trips, being a tour guide, going to weddings, meeting babies, giving piggy back rides, hiking, laying on beaches, and even doing some barista-ing. It’s been fabulous. It’s been relaxing. It’s been busy. It’s been stressful. It’s been a season. IN BETWEEN.

Saturday, I fly back to TX. It will seem normal and completely different. Then a few days later, I will meet the team that I will live and work with on the other side of the world. We will bond. We will train. They will go back to whatever their lives are during their IN BETWEENs and I will get ready to go, because this particular in between is almost over for me.

So, I will schedule quality time with friends, mentors, supporters, and co-laborers. I will drink a lot of coffee. I will have as many late night conversations with my roommate as possible. I will make black bean chicken soup and watch tv with my favorite girls. I will pack. I will make multiple trips to the Goodwill as I realize I have MORE stuff to give away, that I never needed to begin with. I will have goodbye parties. I will hug. I will cry. And 2.5 weeks after I get there, I will leave again. Because it’s just a stop, in between.

I will land in my new land (23 days from now). I will sight see for a day or three. I will go to the place that will soon become my home. I will help run a summer program with a group of volunteers. The volunteers will leave. I will stay… but I will go… to another city, where we will have another summer program. And when that’s done, I will go to another city where I will work with another org during some more in between.

Then I will go to my new home. And the others will come. And I will settle into my new apartment… and I will figure out what life is going to look like.

Then a year later, I’ll come home for some more in between. Then, likely, I’ll go back again and then… I don’t know! But, I do know… there will be more and more adventures, filled with transitions and in betweens. Countless ones.

It’s never the end. Because no home I settle into will ever be HOME. There’s a heavenly city that I’m heading towards, living for… I will not be satisfied until I get there.

“For here we have no lasting city, but we seek the city that is to come.” ~ Hebrews 13:14

Leave a Reply

