this unsettled state of life


Jenny and I are on the road again. We discussed yesterday that we’ve probably stayed in about 30 people’s houses together over the years. Seriously? That’s crazy.

Today we ate some pieces of dove chocolate. Ya know how they have little sayings or fortunes inside the foil? BOTH of ours said, “Embrace change – it may be a blessing in disguise.” How did they know? Oh so appropriate, for both of us.

I’ve been seeing a lot of people that I haven’t seen in a while and meeting their friends and random people along the way. Everyone wants to know where I live. The answer is complicated. I say something like this: “Well, I live wherever I am at the moment. Currently I’m floating around CA for a month. Then back to TX for 2.5 weeks and then … off to the other side of the world!” (I like to call it that here.)

I sometimes feel… unstable. Especially when I’m around old friends who have “settled down” — something I can’t even imagine at this point, though sometimes I long for such a possibility. And then I remember…

Foxes have dens and birds have nests but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head… I think that’s how it goes.

And, I want to be like him. And this… my nomadic life… is one more way He teaches me to hold tightly to Him and loosely to… everything else. Maybe if I was “settled” I’d forget that I’m living for something bigger… something beyond…

I’m not saying it’s bad to be “settled down.” It’s just not where I am today. And I’m learning a lot from this unsettled state of life.

Welp, that’s all for now. :) Have a Happy Day!

One thought on “this unsettled state of life

  1. Unsettled is very exciting! And exhausting. It makes us long for a home, for some place or someone to be ‘settled’ with. Maybe this is His way of making us look forward to Hv. He had a home, it just wasn’t on this planet! :)

Leave a Reply

