Because of my 8th grade Advisory teacher…


When I was in 8th grade I went to Standley Middle School.  We had a Zero Period Advisory Class.  It was 20 minutes long.  We heard announcements and discussed various topics.  Sometimes we had time to do homework.  I’m honestly not sure what the point of this class was. I had a teacher whose name I can not remember for the life of me. I remember her face. I remember where the classroom was. I remember how the room was arranged and where I sat.

But most importantly…

I also remember that one day the entire class vented to this now nameless teacher about how terrible the lines were in the cafeteria, and how sometimes we barely got our lunch in time to eat it before class.  Her response was, “Well, what can we do to change this?”  She had us brainstorm and write up a proposal. Then we presented this proposal to the school’s administration. THEN we started working in the cafeteria (hair nets and all) as volunteers to make the lines go faster. The whole school was grateful. People thought we were cool for causing a change.

It was a small thing. But I learned some valuable lessons:

1. When you’re unhappy with a situation… stop complaining and think of ways to make a difference.

2. If you want to see a change, you’re probably going to have to roll up your sleeves and put a hair net on.  (Or ya know… do SOMETHING out of the norm of your life.)

3. No matter who you are and how “small” you may feel, you have the potential to make a difference in the world around you… but only if you DO something and are willing to WORK for it… (and maybe wear a hair net).

Because of my 8th grade Advisory teacher, I learned to dream about ways I could change the world!!!  I learned to stop complaining and DO something!  :) (Okay, sometimes I still complain… and sometimes I don’t do anything… but I learned that I SHOULD stop complaining and DO something!)

I love teachers who take the time to teach valuable lessons about life.  So, whatever your name is – Thanks for teaching me such a valuable lesson!!!

Leave a Reply

