JUMP and keep the receipt


So, I’ve been thinking a lot about choices…

I like to have things figured out, but I rarely ever do.  In fact, I often feel like the more I know, the less I know… Does that make any sense, at all?

So, when it comes to making choices I’ve learned that what works best for me in MOST situations is to go with my gut and JUMP, knowing that I’ll just have to figure things out as I go. There is a part of me that wants to wait until I know things for sure, but rarely does that time come until AFTER I take the jump.   I’ve learned to simply go for it and then “keep the receipt.”  In other words, I give myself permission to turn around, take it back, and go another direction if the decision I made doesn’t go as well as my gut thought it would.

Not to say I don’t think first… I do continually seek wisdom from Scripture.  No good leaping or step taking happens without that, and I definitely value wise counsel.  So when I say, “I go with my gut and JUMP” I guess what I mean is… I don’t wait around to have it all figured out.  My initial response is usually what I settle on anyway… so if, after comparing that gut reaction to Scripture and seeking wise counsel, I do not see any red flags… I go for it.

I pray.  A lot.  Prayers like this: Father, I do not know what I’m doing or where I’m going.  I don’t know for certain if THIS is a good idea, but you do… And I honestly, genuinely, with all of my heart want my choices to honor and glorify you.  If this option does not do that, will you please please stop me from moving forward!? I’m going to take a little step/big leap because I really think it will be pleasing to You… and I really want to do it… but please, turn me around at any point that I have gone somewhere you don’t want me to be!  Redirect me whenever you see fit.  I am trusting You for that and I am listening for what You have to say.  Thank you for being sovereign over all the details that I do not see or comprehend.  I love that about You and I would go crazy without knowing that You are in control!  :)

Everyday there are countless decisions to be made.   Some are big, some are small.  Honestly, making choices can sometimes be exhausting to me because I love having options!  And saying yes to one thing means saying no to a lot of others.  But I have to do it anyway if I want to live a life that matters… and I do want to live a life that matters.

I love what Erwin McManus says about choices:

The most spiritual activity you will engage in today is making choices.  All the other activities that we describe as spiritual-worship, prayer, meditation-are there to connect us to God and prepare us to live.  While moments are the context within which we live, choices chart the course and determine the destination.

The way followers of Jesus make choices should always be an act of worship.  I’m continually reminded of James 4 where we are taught that we do not KNOW what tomorrow will bring and as we make plans we should always say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”  I think that goes right along with my “keep the receipt” plan.

So, I jump, I pray, and I hold my plans loosely.

Leave a Reply

