the wells of SALVATION


Isaiah 12

The Lord Is My Strength and My Song

You will say in that day:
I will give thanks to you, O Lord,
for though you were angry with me,
your anger turned away,
that you might comfort me.

“Behold, God is my salvation;
I will trust, and will not be afraid;
for the Lord God is my strength and my song,
and he has become my salvation.”

With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation. And you will say in that day:

Give thanks to the Lord,
call upon his name,
make known his deeds among the peoples,
proclaim that his name is exalted.

Sing praises to the Lord, for he has done gloriously;
let this be made known in all the earth.
Shout, and sing for joy, O inhabitant of Zion,
for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.”

I get overwhelmed sometimes by the things I do not understand, the problems I can not solve, the future I can not see… the list goes on.  Tonight I really just needed perspective and I found it here.  God IS my salvation.  I WILL trust and not be afraid.  The Lord God IS my strength and my song. I love this sentence: With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation. The WELLS of salvation are there for me to drink from.  God IS my salvation.  He has become my salvationSALVATION! I do not think about that word enough.

Websters definition of Salvation:

1 : deliverance from the power and effects of sin
2: liberation from ignorance or illusion
3: preservation from destruction

The LORD has become my SALVATION!  He has delivered me from the power and effects of sin.  He has liberated me from ignorance and illusion.  He has preserved me from destruction.  And the imagery of a well of salvation is amazing to me.  A deep endless well filled with thirst quenching water.  And I get access to this well.  I can draw from it, with JOY!  Endlessly.  AND NOW… my response… is to give thanks, to call on his name, and to make known what he has done for ALL peoples, in all the earth.  That is all I need to know.  That is all I need to do.  It’s a big task we’ve been assigned – – – but that is why we call on HIS name!  Because it is HIS power and HIS deeds that will bring others to draw water from the well of salvation!  Great in our midst is the Holy One of Israel.

One thought on “the wells of SALVATION

Leave a Reply

