hold loosely


Faith never knows where it is being led, but it loves and knows the One Who is leading. It is a life of Faith, not of intellect and reason, but a life of knowing Who makes us “go.” The root of faith is the knowledge of a Person, and one of the biggest snares is the idea that God is sure to lead us to success.

~ Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest, March 19th

I’ve said many times in the last few days:

My confidence has diminished… Not my confidence in God.  I KNOW He is in control…  Not my confidence in the fact that He is leading me.  I KNOW I am on a track He has put me on… Not my confidence that God has an amazing plan He is working out and a beautiful picture He is painting.  I am quite am SURE of those things…

My confidence has diminished in MY understanding of what it is He is working out and painting.  I am realizing that the picture I thought I saw in the future is probably not EXACTLY or FULLY the one He has in mind.

My confidence in Him is increasing… My confidence in the beauty of His plan is growing stronger…

My confidence in my control or plan… that’s pretty much gone…

I must hold loosely MY plans… and move forward confidently in what He has led me to… knowing full well, that my understanding of where He is leading is limited… and what I think is His plan, well… it might not be…

I’d love to talk to Abraham… I think we could be friends.  :)

By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance. And he went out, not knowing where he was going.

– Hebrews 11:8


One thought on “hold loosely

  1. Pingback: 9 things I feel like talking about today :) « … this grace in which I stand …

Leave a Reply

