I’m becoming more determined everyday…


…to live a life that is an adventure.  But no matter how adventurous it is… there will always be monotony.  Laundry always has to be done.  Dishes always have to be washed.  Cars always have to be filled with gas (mine does anyway).  Bills always have to be paid.  No matter how much you love your job, there will always be parts of it that bore you to death … and you still have to do them.

I’ve been reminded this week – over and over in different ways and places – that God desires to be a part of EVERY aspect of our lives.  He wants to be a part of the day to day business of life just as much as he wants to be a part of the big adventures.  He has purpose for the monotony as well as for the spectacular moments.

I think these verses speak to that…

Colossians 3:17  “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

I Peter 4:10-11  “As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace:  whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ.  To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

SO, I’m discovering that when we seek the LORD and His glory in those smaller moments of life… they suddenly become bigger… and more… adventurous!

With Jesus… there is adventure to be found in the monotony.

I like that.  ;)

2 thoughts on “I’m becoming more determined everyday…

  1. Just this past Sunday, I was returning some dishes to a couple who had made food for our church’s anniversary fellowship. While I was there, a door was opened for me to encounter a man who couldn’t get a job, lost his food stamps, couldn’t pay his electric bill, and was trying to raise 10 children. We paid his electric bill, rounded up a bunch of food and clothes, and took it to them. While we were at his house I asked him about God, and he told me that he did not believe in God and that he did not believe that the Bible was the Word of God. I was able to witness to him that night for two and a half hours. He didn’t get saved, but he said that he was going to start coming to church (BTW, will you pray for him?). It started by doing just another boring task, but life suddenly got exciting. Of course returning home late, having to do three hours of homework, and then getting up at 4 am to go to class wasn’t fun, but then again it was. I was just doing another monotonous chore that pastors do, but God had other plans. And he told me that I needed to be prepared when life suddenly gets excited.

Leave a Reply

