I wonder…


… what my life would be like if I had faith like the woman in Luke 8:43-48.  She heard about Jesus and after having been sick for 12 years she knew He was her hope!  She was determined to get to him and believed that if she could just touch the hem of his robe, she would be healed.  It happened!  She touched him and Jesus stopped and told the disciples “Someone touched me, for I perceive that power has gone out from me.”  The woman then stepped forward and explained herself.  Jesus compassionately spoke to her saying, “Daughter, your faith has made you well.  Go in peace.”

There are a billion things to contemplate in this story but tonight I am blown away by what happens when we truly believe and reach out to him with a genuine faith…

She could have given up.  She could have believed he wouldn’t care.  She could have thought “who am I to be healed by HIM?”  She could have thought the crowd was just too much for her.

But she didn’t.  She went.  She fought the crowd.  She pushed her way to Him.  In faith, she touched the hem of His garment and was healed.

I give up all the time. Somewhere inside of me, after all that I know and all that I’ve seen, I sometimes believe He just wouldn’t care… I don’t go to Him.  I focus on my sinfulness and I know I’m unworthy, so I just don’t want to bother HIM!  I don’t want to deal with all the other people.  So I don’t go.  I don’t fight.  I don’t find my way to Him. Sometimes.

Othertimes, I reach up and touch the hem of His garment and I’m healed.

What if it was all the time?  What if I took everything to Him?  What would my life look like?  How would the kingdom be impacted?  I want to find out.

Leave a Reply

