broken faith


I’m reading through I Chronicles these days.  Today was chapter 10.  I was grateful to be reading about some action and not another chapter of geneology and then I read this…

13 So Saul died for his breach of faith. He broke faith with the Lord in that he did not keep the command of the Lord, and also consulted a medium, seeking guidance. 14 He did not seek guidance from the Lord. Therefore the Lord put him to death and turned the kingdom over to David the son of Jesse.

… and then I read it again.  If I was walking, I would have stopped in my tracks as I processed it all…

Saul died, not because he threw himself onto his sword… Sure… That’s HOW it happened… but that’s not WHY it happened.  Saul died because he broke faith, did not keep the Lord’s command, was flat out disobedient, and did not seek the guidance of the Lord.  Therefore, the Lord put him to death and gave his kingdom to another man because Saul clearly could not handle the job of accomplishing the purposes the Lord had.

I thought:  Man… How often have I broken my faith, neglected to keep the commands of the Lord or to seek His guidance?  How many things has God given to someone else to do because I could not handle the job of accomplishing His purposes?

It put some holy fear into me.  I don’t have enough of that.

Then I flipped to Luke 6 and I read this…

46 “Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you? 47 Everyone who comes to me and hears my words and does them, I will show you what he is like:48 he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built. 49 But the one who hears and does not do them is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. When the stream broke against it, immediately it fell, and the ruin of that house was great.”

And as much as I call him Lord, Lord and as much as I desire to live a life that is fully His… I know that there are areas of my life that I still make the mistake of building things without a foundation, like Saul did.

I don’t want to be like Saul.  I want every part of my house to be built on the rock.  Praying God will give me eyes to see all the places I’ve neglected to seek His guidance, be obedient, keep His commands, and build my house on the rock.  Lord, in your mercy and grace keep me from having a broken faith!

2 thoughts on “broken faith

  1. You have to feel sorry for Saul. The guy didn’t even want to be king and tried to hide in bags and what not.

    Saul looses the right to be king for offering sacrifices to God before Samuel showed up. He had waited the 7 days Samuel told him to wait and Samuel ended up not showing on time. So Saul took action.

    On top of that, Saul is sentenced to death for visiting a medium. While I understand the greater transgression is due to not seeking the Lord’s guidance, it is interesting when one considers he originally was seeking out a seer who turned out to be Samuel which lead to becoming the king in the first place.

    If only he had picked a better hiding place then a bunch of baggage. Then again, where can you hide from God?

Leave a Reply

