love for Jesus is the point


I recently stumbled on a quote by Walker Percy that said “You can get all A’s and still flunk life.”  I wrote it down.  I think the converse is also true.  You can never get A’s, maybe even get some F’s, and still succeed in life.

On the mirror in my bathroom I have a sticky that says “Intelligence isn’t bad, but love for Jesus is the point!” which is a quote from a Mark Driscoll sermon.

I need these reminders.  As I pursue a “higher education” degree, studying God’s word and many things that go with it… it’s easy to get caught up in the need for more intelligence/the desire for A’s/prestige/etc.

But love for Jesus is the point, that’s why I’m here.  To work hard, to gain intelligence… yes.  But doing those things alone will not bring me success.  I could still flunk life.  I could still not walk in a manner worthy of the gospel.  If I don’t come out on the other side loving Jesus more than when I went in, I’ve gained nothing of value.

Another semester is over and the light at the end of this tunnel is getting brighter.  I didn’t get all A’s but I did pretty well and I mostly… I did learn more about loving Jesus and that’s all the really really matters!

4 thoughts on “love for Jesus is the point

Leave a Reply

