baffled


Sometimes I’m baffled by the way people think!  In recent conversations I’ve heard…

Even if there is a hell… I won’t go there when I die, because in my lifetime I didn’t believe it existed… So, if God does exist, He would never make me go there!

So truth is defined by each person’s beliefs?  How does that make sense?  A murderer believes it’s okay to murder and there is no such thing as jail… so when he kills someone we are not allowed to send him to jail because he didn’t believe it existed?

I don’t believe Satan exists… but I have very personal reasons for believing that!

Personal reasons for believing?  How does that work?  Truth is defined by your personal baggage or background?

I don’t think I need to study Scripture.  God gave me a mind for a reason.  If I can’t figure Him out with my own logic, it’s too complicated to be true!  I shouldn’t need a book to tell me about Him.

Some people think I’m smart but I see myself up close and personal… So I know, I’m kind of dumb!  If I… a kind of dumb girl… could figure out everything about God with my own logic, I wouldn’t believe in Him.  God MUST be more than just logical!!!

I happen to believe very strongly that everything the Bible says is truth… but even if I didn’t believe that… I don’t think any of these statements make any sense!  I’m not trying to make fun of the people who said them… They are really smart people… And THAT! is why I am SO baffled!

Anyone have any insights?

I John 4:6 –  “We are from God. Whoever knows God listens to us; whoever is not from God does not listen to us. By this we know the Spirit of truth and the spirit of error.”

John 8:47 –  “Whoever is of God hears the words of God. The reason why you do not hear them is that you are not of God.”

I Corinthians 2:14 – “The natural person does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they are spiritually discerned.”

One thought on “baffled

  1. Very good points. That is baffling. People are often like children, thinking that if I can’t see you, then you can’t see me. Similarly, “nothing exists except what my acceptance allows to exist”. It’s an arrogant denial that kind of turns the individual into a god, doesn’t it, and that is a prime sort of spiritual danger.

Leave a Reply

