and watch


“Give attention to the sound of my cry,
my King and my God,
for to you do I pray.
O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice;
in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch.”

Psalm 5:2-3, ESV

If you want to learn to pray, read closely through Psalms… You will find some amazing treasures of wisdom and moments of intense relating to the LORD.  Have you ever cried to the LORD and begged Him to pay attention to you?  What a sweet truth it is that he listens… that He hears your voice.  I love David’s words here.  He goes to the Lord, His God and King, in prayer with confidence that He is listening.  The story doesn’t end there though.  Next David prepares a sacrifice and watches.  What is He watching for?  I don’t think he knows exactly.  I think he simply knows who His God and King is and he knows that when he goes to Him in prayer, the LORD speaks, provides, and acts for His glory.

There are a lot of things I am seeking the LORD on right now.  I go to him in prayer each morning about what the day holds… I go to him throughout the day as I dream about what the future holds.  Every day there are answered prayer..

“I’ve thrown myself headlong into your arms–
I’m celebrating your rescue.
I’m singing at the top of my lungs,
I’m so full of answered prayers.”

Psalm 13:5-6, MSG

… and every morning there are new prayers to pray and new answers to watch the LORD provide!

Leave a Reply

