Crazy?


“To those who cannot see the invisible, to those who refuse to believe it exists, the path you choose, the life you live, may lead them to conclude that you are not simply different but insane.  People who are fully alive look out of their minds to those who simply exist.”   ~ Erwin McManus, Barbarian Way

I can’t tell you how often I get “are you crazy?” looks from people.

Like when a man at Starbucks said, “How was your Thanksgiving?  Did you go home to see your family?”  And I answered, “Thanksgiving was AMAZING.  I didn’t go home.   I actually went to the Amazon.”  He laughed and then realized I was serious.  “THE Amazon?  Not Amazon.com?”  “Yes… The Amazon River… In Brasil.”  “Why would you do that?”  “I went with a group of 50 people from my church and we partnered with a local church and some missionaries down there to minister to the people and share about Jesus.”  “Oh, okay…”  he said as he slowly backed away from me with a baffled look on his face.

And like when someone made a comment about me… “Well, she’s very religious.”  And I responded… “No, actually… I’m not religious at all.”  That made no sense to this guy who knows how much time I spend in church and what I’m studying in school… So I explained, “Jesus isn’t about religion so much as He is about a relationship.  I follow Jesus and I have a very real relationship with him.  I can do without religion.”  He responded, “Yeah… you’re religious” and accompanied the statement with a crazy look.

It reminds me of 2 Corinthians 2:15-16.  “For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing, to one a fragrance from death to death, to the other a fragrance from life to life. Who is sufficient for these things?”  When Paul wrote this he was thinking about a tradition of the time.  When a Roman General had a great victory there would be a triumphal procession.  As a part of this procession priests would burn incense.  The smell would bring feelings of victory and life to those who were celebrating but would be a reminder of defeat and death to those who lost the battle.

I love being around other “crazy” Christians… because we are the aroma of life to each other!  It’s sometimes hard to be around those who have not yet chosen to live “fully alive” because I know that to them, I can be the fragrance of death… But I also know that it is essential and that sometimes those “She is crazy!” thoughts they have will lead them to asking questions, exploring, and discovering that the craziness is the fragrance of life to those who believe!

I pray that you are living fully alive!  I pray that you embrace the life that appears crazy to the world around you!  I pray that I will grow in my craziness and learn to live more and more alive in Christ each day.  I pray that the aroma of Christ will be always upon us who believe and that others will be attracted to it and will choose life and victory!

2 thoughts on “Crazy?

  1. Yippee for crazy! :) So happy to have my new favorite quote available on the Internet so I can print it out and hang it on my computer…which is already jammed with papers! Totally love it…write more! :)

Leave a Reply

