I believe…


I believe in God (Jesus, the Father, and Holy Spirit).  Do you?  If you do… Have you taken it further than believing?

“For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened.  Claiming to be wise, they became fools” (Romans 1:21-22).

Believing in God, even “knowing God” is not what He wants.  He wants us to treat Him with the honor that who He is deserves! 

Think about your relationships… You want people to CARE about who you are, to take time to learn about your history, your likes and dislikes, your character, your personality, etc.  Then, you want them to respond to what they know, right?  If they know that your favorite band is COOLBANDNAME and they win two tickets to a COOLBANDNAME show, you hope they invite you to go with them!  If they know you hate NASTYFOOD, you’d hope that they don’t cook NASTYFOOD burgers for you when they invite you over for dinner. 

Well, I’m pretty sure God is the same way.  If you say you believe in Him… Wouldn’t it make sense that you should probably take some time to figure out who He is, what He likes and doesn’t like… and then respond accordingly?

It aches God’s heart to hear those who say “I believe” and then watch as they fail to do anything about it, acting as fools who think they know it all but missing the whole point of life. 

I thought it all through years ago and I decided to believe… really believe… My life then became about getting to know who God is and learning to live a life that reflects what I know about Him… It’s a process.  I won’t perfect it in this lifetime, but by His grace I am being transformed.

I’ve been contemplating this process in my life and I’ll probably process some of it here in the days to come… So, more on that later…

Leave a Reply

