finally home


I love this song and I’ll tell you why…

I’m gonna wrap my arms around my daddy’s neck
And tell him that I’ve missed him
And tell him all about the man that I became
And hope that it pleased him
There’s so much I want to say
There’s so much I want you to know

When I finally make it home
When I finally make it home

Then I’ll gaze upon the throne of the King
Frozen in my steps
And all the questions that I swore I would ask
Words just won’t come yet
So amazed at what I’ve seen
So much more than this old mind can hold

When I finally make it home
When I finally make it home

And the sweetest sound my ears have yet to hear
Voices of angels

When I finally make it home
When I finally make it home

(Finally Home by Mercy Me)

I lost my dad in June of 2004. I miss him. I wish that he could see who I am becoming! I wish that we could talk about things. I wish I could tell him about what I’m learning. He’d have so much to say.

There are moments that I miss him so much that I ache…

The world tells me in those moments: “He’s watching over you!” “He’s your angel now!” All of that is bologna!!!

He’s at the throne of the King! Amazed and singing (as he always so loved to do) with the sweetest sounds his ears have ever heard!!! I appreciate the perspective that is given in this song…

Yes, I look forward to seeing my daddy again… and I’m not certain how it will work but I do hope to get to wrap my arms around his neck and tell him that I’ve missed him – when I finally make it home!  BUT, what’s really going to matter when I get there is the King!!  And that’s what really matters now! That’s why, even when I miss my daddy so much it aches… I continue on!

And you know… now that my dad is with the King, it’s not his job to watch over me.  I’m doing just fine without him, because the King himself watches over me, every moment of every day!  He is my Father.  It will be such a joy to my daddy again someday… but how inexpressible a joy will come when I see my Father!

One thought on “finally home

  1. Hey You!

    I haven’t talked with you in forever! :) Thank you for your comment, don’t you just love that book? I have already passed it on to a woman here at my work who believes in God, but doesn’t have that deepness with Him and she can’t put it down, so it is a blessing to hear that :)

    What is going on with you? How is Texas treating you?

    Making an trips to SoCal anytime soon?

    Blessings-
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

