Destination Amazon


Early tomorrow morning, I’ll be loading a bus with 32 of my friends on our way to the Brazil! I can’t tell you how excited I am! I am confident that God is going to do an amazing work. My prayer is that lives would be transformed – including my own, as God is glorified!

When we arrive in Brazil we will make our way to a boat that will be our home on the Amazon River for the time we are there. We’ll eat here and sleep here (in hammocks) for about a week.

boatlife7.jpg

We will be spending time in Parintins a city known for holding a famous pagan festival. The city has really been built around that purpose. As I think of this place and of the people who devote their lives to these pagan gods, I am reminded of how easy it can be to fall in love with an imitation of beauty when you’ve never been introduced to the real thing. They have given their lives to a lie and are now held captive by evil. We now go “to proclaim liberty to captives and freedom to prisoners…” I am confident that God is very much at work and that we are now joining in something that He is already blessing. I pray that our presence will draw attention to the presence of the Most High God and that men, women, and children will come to know Him “so they will be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that He may be glorified. Then they will rebuild the ancient ruins, They will raise up the former devastation; And they will repair the ruined cities, The desolations of many generations.” (Isaiah 61)

We also will spend some days in the village of Barreira where there are currently 5 believing families. We hope to encourage them and to begin paving the way for a pastor who will soon be going into the village to plant its first church.

You can be sure, I’ll be sharing many stories when I get back… In the meantime, prayers will be needed as this is a place where there is very evidently a battle going on for souls!

boatlife1.jpg childm9.jpg

3 thoughts on “Destination Amazon

  1. an “interesting person” is one that was creatively created by a creative God. You and I are a living example of God’s quirkiness :)

    Rock the world!

    eva

  2. Shanda you are an interesting person why are you so surprised that someone would point that out? I think it means that there is something about you that makes others want to know you more…you’re like a narcotic. Yeah that’s it…Shanda Kay Conger the new narcotic! LOL

Leave a Reply

