draw it out


“The purpose (/counsel – depending on translation) in a man’s heart is like deep water, but a man of understanding will draw it out.” Proverbs 20:5

Have you ever met someone who thought they had all the answers? Or been given advice that was just plain stupid? Of course. Who hasn’t? You sit there and think… “Are you really saying this right now? Am I really listening?”

A good counselor does not give all the answers. Instead he draws out what the person already knows deep within themselves.

Those of us who who know Jesus and follow Him are charged with an incredible purpose in life – to make disciples! But just like none of us want to hear a no-it-all give us advice that we find inapplicable to our situation, so do many believers feel when we throw the gospel in their faces. We are all created with a deep longing for God, but we don’t always know that’s what it is. Our purpose, as disciple makers, is to HELP people discover that they were made for something much bigger than themselves. Our purpose is to help those around us discover their longing for God. It’s there – in the heart like deep water. It just needs to be drawn out by those of us who understand!

One thought on “draw it out

  1. I loved the part where you said, “A good counselor does not give all the answers. Instead he draws out what the person already knows deep within themselves.”

    That is so true. I meet monthly with the campus pastor at my school and I realize that its not about him telling me what I should do, but helping me figure out what I know I already need to do in certain situations. And just learning new things about myself, not telling me who I am, but asking me questions to help me know that I already know who I am.

    Thanks girl!

    Blessings-
    Tiffany

    P.S. I sent you an e-mail :)

Leave a Reply

