treasures of wisdom


Colossians 2:3 says “In Him [Jesus Christ] all the treasures of wisdom — comprehensive insight into the ways and purposes of God — and all the riches of spiritual knowledge and enlightenment are stored up and lie hidden.” (Amplified Bible)

All the answers I’m looking for… they are right there, in Jesus… and He is not some foreign person I have no access to. He is available to me at all times. I can pray to Him; I can read his words in Scripture; The Holy Spirit leads me and guides me; I have a very real, very personal, very intimate relationship with Him. Why then would I look to anything or anyone else for answers? In James 1 we are promised that if we lack wisdom and we ask God for it, He will give it!

Everything I need… every answer… every treasure of wisdom… is found in Jesus! But He doesn’t just hand it all over to us at the moment we accept Him as our Savior… It’s stored up and hidden. It requires effort to find it. We have to make a choice. We must walk in relationship with Him and discover it along the way.

The choice should be so obvious! Yes Jesus, give me the treasure!!!!! Okay Shanda, seek after me and you will find it. And yet, so often I become lazy and get distracted… Why do I take my eyes off of Jesus?

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” (Hebrews 12:2)

Thank you Jesus, for being the answer to my questions. Thank you for humbling yourself to come and live life among us… for dying for us and rising victoriously! You are God! You are good! You are holy! And you love me… What a humbling truth that is. Thank you for bringing me on this journey… I want to find those hidden treasures of wisdom… spiritual knowledge and enlightentment. I want to know your ways and purposes. I will walk with you.

One thought on “treasures of wisdom

  1. Thank you for the encouraging words :) I loved this post because it is so true. Many times I ask the Lord, “Why do I doubt you?” I laugh at myself often because He always proves Himself faithful and true in my life and so many times I forget, you know?

    To answer your question…I live in Orange County. I grew up in a city called Huntington Beach (have you heard of it). Been here my whole life and my family just moved May 2006 to upstate New York. I stayed here and although it’s been hard not having them around, it is a good thing. I just saw a recent picture of my stepdad taken on Sunday and there was something about that picture that was different. He looked so happy and content. So I know it was a good move for them…plus my little brother has tons of friends he didn’t have here in Orange County.

    What about you? Where did you grow up and how is Texas? I have a couple of friends out there that I want to visit. One in San Antonio and the other in Dallas. I often thought about moving to that state at times :)

    Blessings

Leave a Reply

